Congratulations to MIW Erica Farber Giants of Broadcasting Honorees for 2012

Awards go to Norman Lear, George Beasley, Ted Turner, Erica Farber, Andy Rooney, Sir Howard Stringer,
Don Cornelius, Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer

The 10th annual staging of the GIANTS OF BROADCASTING, a yearly event sponsored by the LIBRARY OF AMERICAN BROADCASTING and celebrating distinguished leadership or performance in television and radio, is scheduled for OCTOBER 18 in New York's Grand Hyatt Hotel.

ERICA FARBER, is credited with being the first woman to become general manager of a major-market radio station (RKO's WROR-FM Boston in 1976, a post that led to the vice presidency-general managership of WXLO-FM New York). Farber has been knocking them out of the radio park ever since, entering the station representation market at McGavren Guild in 1980 and being named VP/GM of the radio marketing division of the parent company, Interep, just three years later. In 1992 she left Interep to join Radio & Records as executive VP of sales and marketing. She was promoted to chief operating officer in 1994 and publisher and CEO in 1996. In 2009, after completing the due diligence process for, and subsequent acquisition of, the publishing company by the Nielsen Company, she founded The Farber Connection LLC, dedicated to building an internet-based information company. She has held a number of positions in industry organizations, among them AWRT and PROMAX, the latter as chairperson, and is a past president of the Country Radio Broadcasters. Farber joined the Radio Advertising Bureau as executive VP in 2011 and became president and CEO this year, charged with leading a renaissance of the $17 billion-plus radio industry, which had suffered revenue declines in recent years.

The LIBRARY OF AMERICAN BROADCASTING (LAB) — located at the University of Maryland — is entering its 41st year serving as the national information resource for the radio and television industries and the academic communities that rely upon it for depth and expertise.

Previous honorees include industry founders Guglielmo Marconi, David Sarnoff of RCA and NBC, William S. Paley and Frank Stanton of CBS, Leonard Goldenson of ABC, Bob Hope, Lucille Ball, Ken Burns, Johnny Carson, Katie Couric, Brian Williams, Christiane Amanpour, Lowry Mays and Tim Russert.

TICKETS: Reservativos for tablas and individual tickets to the event may be arranged through Jessica Wolin at 212-685-4233 or by e-mail at