MIW in Radio logo

Who We Are »  

Subscribe to our Newsletter »  

Heidi Raphael Kay Olin Erica Farber Corinne Baldassano Ruth Presslaff Lindsay Cerajewski Denise Mesnik Valerie Geller

Mentoring & Inspiring
Women in Radio

Using our influence and
resources to support women
in radio to develop strong
management and leadership
skills. The MIWs are equally
committed to advocating
the advancement of women
to senior positions in radio
companies and corporations.

Sponsor Greater Media

NAPLES, Florida, February 2, 2016 - According to the latest MIW Gender Analysis Study released by the Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio Group (MIW’s) out of 11,201 AM and FM radio stations, accounted for by MStreet Publications as of December 31, 2015, 1878 or 17.3% have women holding the GM position in 2015. This is a one-tenth percentage point drop from 2014, which was 17.4%, but does continue to show growth from 2004, eleven years ago when the percentage was only 14.9%. The annual study is compiled, analyzed and released by the MIW’s from information provided by *MStreet Publications.

In the top 100 markets, the number of women GM’s is just barely ahead of the national average. In 2015 16.3% of stations in these markets were managed by women, which compares to 16.2% in 2014. Overall the best management opportunities for women continue to be in sales management although there has been essentially only a minor change for the last eleven years. In 2015, 30.5% of all stations have a women sales manager, which is just slightly up from last year. And in the top 100 markets just under 31% of the stations have women SM’s, which showed a decrease of one and a half percentage points from 2014.

The greatest challenge for women in radio management continues to be as programmers. Women currently only program 10.9% of all stations in the country, which compares to 10.7% nine years ago. The news is a little better in the top 100 markets where women programmers now represent 11.9%, which compares to 12.2% in 2015, but does show a decrease year-over-year.

"Tracking the leadership roles of women in media brings awareness to the continued need to reach back and lift up," comments MIW Spokeswoman Kay Olin. "There is an incredible talent pool of strong and capable female leaders and they stand ready to make a difference. It is the responsibility of all of us in the media industry to make sure that we are conscientiously and consistently practicing inclusion."

*All information provided by MStreet Publications is subject to the limitations of data provided by radio companies.  The analysis is dependent upon the accuracy and completeness of MStreet data as of December 2015.


- Qualified Candidates Encouraged to Apply -

NAPLES, FL, January 13, 2016 - The Mentoring & Inspiring Women in Radio (MIW) Group is pleased to announce details for the 2016 Mildred Carter Mentoring Program. Now in its 15th year, the MIW’s mentoring program matches up-and-coming women in the radio industry with female professionals recognized as leaders in all aspects of radio

“We look forward, each year, to this application process,” says Lindsay Cerajewski, chair of the 2016 MIW Radio Group's Mentoring Committee and Director, Partnership Marketing & Branded Content for Emmis Digital in Chicago. “Not only do we anticipate hearing from many qualified applicants, we are encouraged by the caliber of radio professionals reaching out to us for this unique opportunity to gain valuable insights, knowledge and access to some of the most influential women in radio.”

A total of four candidates from the radio broadcasting industry - within the sales, marketing, programming and digital disciplines - will be selected for the 2016 program. Of those, at least one spot will be designated for a programming candidate, and one spot designated for a digital candidate. For mentee criteria and instructions on how to apply, please visit http://tinyurl.com/goqgjlb. The deadline to apply is Friday, February 5th, 2016.

The MIW Radio Group mentoring program is named in the memory of Mildred Carter, who, along with her husband Andrew "Skip" Carter, founded the first African American owned radio station in the U.S. in 1950, when they turned on KPRS Kansas City, Missouri. Mrs. Carter ran the Carter Broadcast Group for many years after the death of Skip Carter, before turning over control of the company to her grandson, Michael Carter in 1987.

About the MIW Radio Group: The Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio Group consists of top-level radio women across the United States who are dedicated to using their influence and resources to help women in radio develop strong management and leadership skills. The MIW Radio Group is equally committed to advocating the advancement of women to senior positions in broadcasting.


Who We Are
footer line
Website design by UmeWorks